International Tourism Policy

European Union Strategy for the Danube Region

The Strategy promoting the development of the Danube region was presented on 8 December 2010 in the document COM (2010) 715/4 of the European Commission.

World Tourism Organization of the United Nations (UNWTO)


World Tourism Organisation (WTO) is a specialised agency of the United Nations and a leading international organisation in the field of tourism. The main goals of WTO are to promote sustainable tourism development, to popularise it as a driver of economic growth and sustainable development and to reduce its negative impact. It encourages the implementation of the Global Code of Ethics for Tourism, education and training in the field of tourism, thus making tourism part of the instruments in achieving the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.


European Travel Commission

The European Travel Commission (ETC) is a non-profit organisation based in Brussels, founded in 1948. Its membership consists of 35 national tourist organisations. Its main activity is to advertise and promote tourism in Europe in general and in particular in each country. It supports its members to exchange information and to work in cooperation. It also provides its partners with current travel data. The web site, designed to promote European tourism is

Organisation of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC)

The Organisation of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC) is an international regional economic organisation of the countries in the Black Sea region. Originally, it was initiated in 1992 by the Republic of Turkey, and in 1999 it was given the statute of a fully-fledged international organisation. Currently, the member states are Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Republic of North Macedonia, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.

Central European Initiative (CEI)

The Central European Initiative (CEI) includes 18 member states – Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Ukraine, Hungary, Croatia, Montenegro and the Czech Republic.

The Republic of Bulgaria is a full member of CEI as of 1 June 1996.

Subscribe to International Tourism Policy