European Travel Commission


The European Travel Commission (ETC) is a non-profit organisation based in Brussels, founded in 1948. Its membership consists of 35 national tourist organisations. Its main activity is to advertise and promote tourism in Europe in general and in particular in each country. It supports its members to exchange information and to work in cooperation. It also provides its partners with current travel data. The web site, designed to promote European tourism is

The Republic of Bulgaria has been a member of this organisation since 1993.

Its structure consists of: President, 3 Vice Presidents, Board of Directors, Chair of the Market Intelligence Group and Chair of the Marketing & Technology Network.

ETC operates in Europe and 4 major overseas markets – Brazil, Canada, China and the USA. They are united in the ETC Operations Group, and chaired by an elected chair person. Their main responsibility is compiling the annual advertising programme of Europe, budget planning and making contacts with local industries.

ETC is funded entirely by its members.

For further information: