21 May 2021


For tourism purposes, tourists from 87 countries can travel to Bulgaria.

From 19 May 2021 to 31 May 2021, based on the Order № RD-01-354/18.05.2021 of the Minister of Health tourists  from 87 countries are allowed to enter through the following border checkpoints (BC) on the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria:

  1. Burgas Airport border checkpoint;
  2. Varna Airport border checkpoint;
  3. Plovdiv Airport border checkpoint;
  4. Sofia Airport Border Checkpoint (Terminal 1 and Terminal 2);
  5. Port of Burgas border checkpoint;
  6. Port of Varna border checkpoint;
  7. Vidin border checkpoint;
  8. Vrashka Chuka border checkpoint;
  9. Durankulak border checkpoint;
  10. Gueshevo border checkpoint;
  11. Ilinden border checkpoint;
  12. Kalotina border checkpoint;
  13. Kapitan Andreevo border checkpoint;
  14. Captain Petko Voivoda border checkpoint;
  15. Kulata border checkpoint;
  16. Lesovo border checkpoint;
  17. Makaza border checkpoint;
  18. Malko Tarnovo border checkpoint;
  19. Oryahovo border checkpoint;
  20. Ruse border checkpoint
  21. Stanke Lisichkovo border checkpoint
  22. Somovit-Nikopol border checkpoint
  23. Оltomantsi border checkpoint

Tourists can enter the country in three ways:

- by a document for a completed vaccination schedule against COVID-19 and an expiry of a 14-day period from the date of receiving the final dose.

- by a document showing a positive result from a polymerase chain reaction test or a rapid antigen test for COVID-19 - for persons who have recovered from COVID-19 for the period from the 15th to the 180th day from the date of the test entered in the document.

- by a document showing a negative result from a polymerase chain reaction test performed up to 72 hours before entry into the country or a negative result from a rapid antigen test performed up to 48 hours before entry into the country to detect COVID-19, as of the date of test entered in the document.


Based on the Order № RD-01-354/18.05.2021 of the Minister of Health from 19 May 2021 children up to 5 years old can enter Bulgaria without certification of immunity or negative result from PCR/antigen test.

Entry from the following countries is allowed:

  1. The Republic of Austria;
  2. The Kingdom of Netherlands;
  3. The Federal Republic of Germany;
  4. The Republic of Poland;     
  5. The Hellenic Republic;    
  6. The Kingdom of Denmark;
  7. Romania;
  8. The Republic of Estonia;
  9. The Slovak Republic;
  10. The Republic of Slovenia;  
  11. Hungary;     
  12. The Republic of Finland; 
  13. The Republic of Cyprus;
  14. The French Republic;   
  15. The Republic of Latvia;
  16. The Republic of Croatia;  
  17. The Republic of Lithuania;
  18. The Czech Republic;
  19. The Portuguese Republic;
  20. The Grand Duchy of Luxemburg;
  21. Iceland;
  22. The Kingdom of Norway;
  23. The Swiss Confederation;
  24. The Principality of Liechtenstein;
  25. The Republic of San Marino;
  26. The Principality of Andorra;
  27. The Principality of Monaco;
  28. The Vatican City State;
  29. The Republic of Malta
  30. The Italian Republic;
  31. The Kingdom of Spain;
  32. The Republic of Ireland;
  33. The Kingdom of Belgium;
  34. The Kingdom of Sweden;
  35. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland;
  36. The Commonwealth of Australia;
  37. Canada;
  38. Georgia;
  39. Japan;
  40. New Zealand;
  41. The Republic of Rwanda;
  42. The Republic of Korea;
  43. The Kingdom of Thailand;
  44. The Eastern Republic of Uruguay;
  45. The United Arab Emirates;
  46. The Republic of Belarus;
  47. The Republic of Serbia;
  48. The Republic of Turkey;
  49. The Republic of Northern Macedonia;
  50. The Republic of Albania;
  51. Kosovo;
  52. Bosnia and Herzegovina;
  53. Montenegro;
  54. The Republic of Moldova;
  55. The State of  Israel;
  56. The State of Kuwait;
  57. Ukraine;
  58. The United States of America;
  59. The People's Republic of China;
  60. The Russian Federation;
  61. The Republic of Tunisia;
  62. The Arab Republic of Egypt;
  63. The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria;
  64. The Kingdom of Morocco;
  65. The Republic of Mali;
  66. The Republic of Niger;
  67. The Republic of Chad;
  68. The Republic of Sudan;
  69. The State of Eritrea;
  70. The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia;
  71. The Republic of Somalia;
  72. The Central African Republic;
  73. The Gabonese Republic;
  74. The Republic of the Congo;
  75. The Federal Republic of Nigeria;
  76. The Republic of Benin;
  77. The Togolese Republic;
  78. The Republic of Côte d'Ivoire
  79. The Republic of Liberia;
  80. The Republic of Sierra Leone;
  81. The Republic of the Gambia;
  82. The Republic of Senegal;
  83. The Republic of Burkina Faso;
  84. The Republic of South Sudan;
  85. The Republic of Guinea;
  86. The Republic of Guinea-Bissau;
  87. The Republic of Madagascar;


The list is subject to update and supplementation depending on the development of the epidemic situation.

Information by country from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in connection with the travel requirements during COVID-19 can be found at:   


Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Google icon
e-mail icon